Madison’s New Library

Image

As many of you know, downtown Madison’s beautiful new library opened a few weeks ago.  The writing team (Laurie Scheer, Christine DeSmet, and myself) rushed right over to investigate.

Image

The views from the roof terrace (!) are really lovely.  That’s the Overture Center on the left.  And in the middle of the photo is the Madison Concourse Hotel, where we’ll be holding the 25th Anniversary edition of Writers’ Institute in April!

Image

The roof terrace is lovely and quite “green,” with a living carpet of succulents and solar panels scattered about.

Image

We were all quite taken with this installation in the third floor stairwell.  Do you recognize those guys?

Here’s a closer look:

Image

Clever, no?

Image

The building manages to be bright and open – and still offer lots of private little areas for studying or chatting.

Image

And there’s art everywhere.

Image

Even the ceilings were beautiful.  It’s hard to tell from the picture, but those tiles aren’t printed – they’re openwork, like lace.

Image

I loved this room divider, too.  Every floor has its own feel.  The second floor is more earthy than the ethereal third floor.

Image

Loved the color and texture.

Image

This instillation is composed entirely of “four letter words.”

Image

There are cool design details everywhere you look.

ImageImage

This little nod to UW athletics made me smile.

Image

The rooftop terrace is nice, don’t get me wrong, but my favorite area by far is the children’s section.

Image

Filled with color, light, cubbies, and tiny chairs, it was at once relaxing and energizing, if that makes sense.

ImageImage

These little pods made me think of Ewoks.  (And made me wonder if I could fit one in my apartment.)

ImageImageImageImage

I was especially taken by the cloud-like lighting fixtures.

ImageImage

Everywhere you look, there’s space to play and discover and create.

ImageImage

They have a play/discover/create space for adults, as well, called “The Bubbler.”  The theme when we stopped by?

“I want to make…”

Image

I love these answers.  Can anyone spot a Prince fan?  And I wish I knew who wanted to make creme brulee.  I want to be friends with that person.

Image

Image

There’s even a coffee shop!  Chocolaterian will be serving coffee, their legendary hot chocolate, soups, and assorted sweet things.  And they encourage people to bring their beverages with them as they browse and read and study.

Image

The art installation by their counter was delicate paper tea cups.  Darling.

Image

If you’re in the area, I highly encourage you to check it out!

One thought on “Madison’s New Library

  1. fairydisenchantment

    Lovely! You caught my favorite reading/writing spot on the 3rd floor of MPL, and my favorite artwork there, “Stacked” by Niki Johnson (the bookend piece).

Leave a Reply

