Write-by-the-Lake Writer’s Workshop & Retreat Wrap-Up

What a wonderful Write-by-the-Lake!  It was so much fun getting to chat with many of you in my little temporary office in “Resource Cove.”  My student helpers and I made over 2,000 copies in that little room!  You all were working hard!

Those of you who follow us on Facebook have already seen many of these, but I thought I’d share them again just in case.

I might be biased, but I think Madison is such a lovely city – don’t you?

IMG_8811
The storm approaches from across Lake Mendota on Wednesday morning. That would make our third tornado warning in two days!
IMG_8812
We saw quite a lot of this last week, didn’t we?
IMG_8827
Luckily, though, we did get some little pockets of sunshine, too. When I lived in the Pacific Northwest, the forecast often included “sun-breaks.” I love that term. I think those little sun-breaks inspired many of us to use our ice cream coupons!
IMG_8832
Lovely Lake Mendota. It’s so calm without those gale-force winds, isn’t it?
IMG_8736
I love this view of the Historical Society and the Red Gym. (It’s the view out of the third floor ladies’ room, funnily enough!)
IMG_8756
As you can see, lots of us didn’t get a great night’s sleep on Monday night / Tuesday morning.
IMG_8760
Calm waters are a good thing!
IMG_8852
On Thursday night, the Pyle Center threw a little party – delicious appetizers and the musical talents of Mike Massey (who would win a Madison Area Music Award a few days later!) and Francie Phelps. We were all so glad the weather held!
IMG_8860
Another view of Thursday’s rooftop gathering.
IMG_8921
A little panorama of a very moody-looking lake.
IMG_8918
Ice cream for dinner. “Union Utopia” – vanilla with swirls of fudge, peanut butter, and caramel. Now I’m thinking I should get that for dinner tonight, too!

IMG_8762_edit IMG_8841 IMG_8890_edit IMG_8904 IMG_8905 IMG_8925 IMG_8929So wonderful to see you all – can’t wait for next year!

3 thoughts on “Write-by-the-Lake Writer’s Workshop & Retreat Wrap-Up

  1. Julie Tallard Johnson

    Great photos! I so enjoyed the week and all the writers! What a remarkable opportunity. Thank you too Laura for all you do behind the scenes to make it possible.

Leave a Reply

