Opportunities for writers


The Water Sustainability and Climate project and partners launches the “Our Waters, Our Future Writing Contest.” The winning story will be published in Madison Magazine. We all know water is essential to our lives and to those of future generations. But big changes, like growing populations and a warmer world, are bringing big challenges for our waters and communities. How, then, can we build a future we want? We can start by imagining what it looks like. The “Our Waters, Our Future” writing contest seeks short stories that reflect positive futures for water and people in south-central Wisconsin. Stories must be 1500 to 2000 words in length. The contest is open to anyone who resides or attends school in Wisconsin and is 18 years or older. Stories will be judged blindly based on 1) creativity and writing quality, 2) scientific plausibility, and 3) whether it follows guidelines listed above. The winner and finalists will be announced at a World Water Day event hosted by the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters on March 22, 2016.

The Creative Nonfiction Foundation, in partnership with The Pittsburgh Foundation, is providing twelve writing fellowships to people who want to write about how mental illness has affected their lives. The writing fellows will take part in five weekly workshops, which will cover the entire writing process, led by Lee Gutkind, founder and editor of Creative Nonfiction. All participants will conceive their stories, learn the creative nonfiction craft, and write first and follow-up drafts. In preparation for a series of public events and readings, a later session will focus on developing skills for reading/performing stories effectively for an audience. Fellows will also receive scholarships to the Creative Nonfiction Writers’ Conference in Pittsburgh this May. The deadline for application materials is November 30, 2015. more details here.

New American Press is accepting submissions to its poetry book contest. Deadline January 1, 2016. The winning manuscript will be published, and its author awarded $1,000 and 25 copies. Manuscripts should be at least 48 pages, and may contain one or several individual poems published previously in magazines or journals. Manuscripts without previously published poems are also welcome. Poems may be of any style, length, or form. The final judge will be Gabriel Gudding. Manuscripts will be read blind, so please exclude identifying information from the manuscript itself. 

2016 Trio Award and Louise Bogan Award. Trio House Press is accepting submissions for both the 2016 Trio Award and the 2016 Louise Bogan Award from November 1, 2015 – April 30, 2016.  See their website for guidelines and to submit your manuscript.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s